Wisconsin Academy Fellows 2014 Induction Event | wisconsinacademy.org
Your shopping cart is empty.


Wisconsin Academy Fellows 2014 Induction Event

Sunday, April 27, 2014 - 1:00pm to 3:30pm

We came together at Overture Center in Madison, Wisconsin, on April 27 to celebrate the election of new Wisconsin Academy Fellows, Wisconsinites with extraordinary levels of accomplishment in their fields as well as a lifelong commitment to intellectual discourse and public service. These distinguished individuals from a wide range of disciplines help shape our programs and projects. Fellowship represents the highest level of recognition conferred by the Wisconsin Academy.

This year's Fellows Induction Ceremony honored the 2014 Wisconsin Academy Fellows:

  • Robin Chapman
  • Kathy Kelsey Foley
  • David Frank
  • James P. Leary
  • John J. Magnuson
  • Pradeep Rohatgi
  • Stanley Temple
Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters is proud to recognize our sponsors for this event, the Alliant Energy Foundation and University Research Parks with additional support from Wisconsin Academy members. For more information on the Wisconsin Academy Fellows, visit our Fellows Page


From the time poet Robin Chapman was eight she has written poetry, returning to it in 1980 in Wisconsin with the commitment to meet with her writing groups weekly, including in her poems topics of daily life, nature, child language, and science.

Kathy Kelsey Foley has the distinction of having twice served as director of Wausau’s Leigh Yawkey Woodson Art Museum, her tenures separated by seven years. She returned to the Woodson in March 1998 and considers the time away from Wausau and the Museum “an extended sabbatical and important learning period.” 

David Frank (and family) moved to Wisconsin when he was appointed Artistic Director of the American Players Theatre in the summer of 1991.

James P. Leary is the Birgit Baldwin Emeritus Professor of Scandinavian Studies, an emeritus professor in the Department of Comparative Literature and Folklore Studies, and a co-founder of the Center for the Study of Upper Midwestern Cultures at UW–Madison.

John J. Magnuson is Professor Emeritus of Zoology and Limnology at the Center for Limnology, UW–Madison.

Pradeep Rohatgi received his undergraduate degree from IIT-BHU and his Doctorate in science from MIT in 1964. He was a professor at the Indian Institute of Science and Indian Institute of Technology, and also served as the Founder and Chief Executive of two National Laboratories in India.

Stanley A. Temple is the Beers-Bascom Professor Emeritus in Conservation in the Department of Forest and Wildlife Ecology and former Chairman of the Conservation Biology and Sustainable Development Program in the Gaylord Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies at UW–Madison.

Contact Us

Follow Us

Wisconsin Academy Offices 
1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608.733.6633


James Watrous Gallery 
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608.733.6633 x25