Board and Foundation Members |
Your shopping cart is empty.


Board and Foundation Members

President: Tim Size, Sauk City
President-Elect: Patricia Brady, Madison
Immediate-Past President: Linda Ware, Wausau
Vice President of Sciences: Richard Burgess, Madison
Vice President of Arts: Marianne Lubar, Milwaukee
Vice President of Letters: Jane Hamblen, Madison
Secretary: James W. Perry, Larsen
Treasurer: Richard A. Donkle, Middleton
Foundation President: Andy Richards, Madison

Board Members
John Ashley, Sauk City
Kimberly Blaeser, Burlington
Malcolm Brett, Oregon
Frank Byrne, Madison
Roberta Filicky-Peneski, Sheboygan
Joseph Heim, La Crosse
Tom Luljak, Milwaukee
Robert Mathieu, Madison
Bernie L. Patterson, Stevens Point
Kevin Reilly, Verona
Nathan Wautier, Madison
Marty Wood, Eau Claire

Executive Director
Jane Elder

The Wisconsin Academy Foundation
The Wisconsin Academy of Sciences Arts and Letters was founded in 1870 by a distinguished group of Wisconsin citizens. At that time, it was recognized that the work of the Academy would be enhanced by creation of a permanent endowment fund, with the annual earnings to be applied to Academy operations. By 1875, a fund of $5,000 had been established for this purpose by member subscriptions.

During the period 1960-1980, several large bequests, notably from professors Harry Steenbock and Elizabeth McCoy, added substantially to the corpus of this fund. In the 1980's, Ira Baldwin (1895-1999), a renowned bacteriologist and university Vice President, suggested that the endowment funds held by the Academy be protected by the custody and oversight of a separately incorporated foundation, with board members experienced in financial matters.

In 1990-92, Terry Haller, a Madison businessman and Academy Council (today our Board of Directors) member, undertook to execute Dr. Baldwin's vision to form the Wisconsin Academy Foundation. Working closely with the Council, this was accomplished in 1992, and a worthy board of directors was recruited from around the state to undertake operations. Mr. Haller served as the first board President, and Dr. Baldwin served as a board member until his 100th birthday. Richard Daniels was hired to serve as the first Executive Director of the foundation. Since its inception, the Academy Foundation has grown about five-fold from an initial one million dollars, and the annual support of the Academy has risen accordingly. This support has been vital to the Academy's mission of connecting people and ideas for a better Wisconsin.

President: Andy Richards
Treasurer: Richard A. Donkle

Foundation Directors
Mark Bradley
Jane Elder
Freda Harris
Jack Kussmaul
Tim Size
Linda Ware

Foundation Founder
Ira Baldwin (1895-1999)

Contact Us

Follow Us
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusInstagram

Wisconsin Academy Administrative Offices and Steenbock Gallery
1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608-263-1692

James Watrous Gallery of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608-265-2500