Meet The 2018 Fellows |
Your shopping cart is empty.

Meet The 2018 Fellows

Kimberly M. Blaeser

Kimberly Blaeser is a poet, photographer, and scholar. A former Wisconsin Poet Laureate from 2015–2016, Blaeser is currently a Professor of English and Indigenous Studies at UW—Milwaukee and an MFA faculty member for the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe.

Sheri Castelnuovo

Sheri Castelnuovo has been responsible for the planning and execution of public programming at the Madison Museum of Contemporary Art since 1991. She oversees all of the museum’s educational programming, including the docent program, school programs and learning resources; adult enrichment programs; youth and family programs; online exhibitions; and film and video series.

Cathryn Cofell

Cathryn Cofell was previously vice-president of Letters for the Wisconsin Academy Board of Directors. Cofell worked with Wisconsin Governor Tommy Thompson to establish the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission, and went on to serve as the Commission's founding chair.

Carol Cohen

Carol Cohen is the Wisconsin Humanities Council appointee to the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission. She served as Associate Academic Dean at Edgewood College where she also taught writing and drama. In the past, Cohen has done freelance writing for the Madison Repertory Theatre and was the director of a college theatre in upstate New York. She holds a PhD in Theatre and Drama from University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Nick Demske

Nick Demske lives in Racine and works at the Racine Public Library. He serves as the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission representative for Wisconsin Center for the Book. Nick is the author of a self-titled collection of poetry, which was picked for the 2010 Fence Modern Poets Series prize, and a chapbook, "Skeetly Deetly Deet," which was published by Strange Cage Press.

Ronnie Hess

Journalist and poet Ronnie Hess began her broadcasting career at Wisconsin Public Radio. In the 1980s, she was a reporter/producer for CBS News in Paris, before returning to public radio in the Twin Cities and Chicago.

Kevin Miller

Since June of 2007, Kevin Miller has been Executive Director of Thelma Sadoff Center for the Arts (THELMA) located in the heart of downtown Fond du Lac.  Miller provided the vision and leadership for a multi-million dollar expansion transforming THELMA into a major regional arts destination. A proponent for poetry and the spoken word, THELMA has been the longtime home of the Foot of the Lakes Poetry Collective.

Soham Patel

Soham Patel is the author of two chapbooks, and nevermind the storm (Portable Press at Yo-Yo Labs, 2013) and Riva: a Chapter (kitchen-shy press, 2013). She is a Kundiman fellow and a PhD Candidate in Creative Writing at the University of Wisconsin in Milwaukee where she serves as a poetry editor for cream city review. Patel became a member-at-large of the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission in 2015.


Margaret Rozga

Margaret "Peggy" Rozga is the Wisconsin Poet Laureate for 2019-2020. A native of Milwaukee, Rozga is a poet, playwright and emerita professor of English at the University of Wisconsin-Waukesha where she taught creative writing and multicultural literature.

William Stobb

Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission chair William Stobb has five poetry collections which have garnered a variety of awards and praises. Of Stobb's National Poetry Series collection, Nervous Systems (Penguin Poets), August Kleinzahler writes, "William Stobb has nerve and talent, and engages this madly accelerating, often nearly indecipherable world in what's called real time, and he does it without sacrificing emotional force."

Mark Zimmermann

Mark Zimmermann is author of the Pushcart Prize-nominated collection Impersonations (Pebblebrook Press, 2015). His poems have appeared in New Letters, Cream City Review, Verse Wisconsin, New Verse News, The Writer, and Vocabula Review. Zimmermann is a member of the Hartford Avenue Poets and has served on the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission since 2004. He lives and teaches in Milwaukee.

Contact Us

Follow Us
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusInstagram

Wisconsin Academy Administrative Offices and Steenbock Gallery
1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608.733.6633


James Watrous Gallery of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608.733.6633 x25