2016 Fellows Awards Ceremony | wisconsinacademy.org
Your shopping cart is empty.


2016 Fellows Awards Ceremony

Join us as we honor eleven extraordinary Wisconsinites
Sunday, April 17, 2016 - 1:00pm to 3:30pm


UW–Madison Pyle Center
702 Langdon Street
53706 Madison , WI

Join us for a special ceremony to celebrate the accomplishments of these distinguished Wisconsinites. On Sunday, April 17th from 1:00 - 3:30 pm, we are gathering at the Pyle Center on the UW-Madison campus for an awards ceremony and reception to meet our newest Fellows and mingle with members and friends.

Single ticket prices are as follows:

  • General Public - $40
  • Academy Members - $30

We also have registration for eight (8) available for $300.

Online registration for this event is closed. If you would like to inquire about availability, please contact Amanda Shilling, (608) 263-1692 ext.16.


Congratulations to our 2016 Wisconsin Academy Fellows:

  • Marcia Bjornerud
  • Stephen R. Carpenter
  • Parry Karp
  • Jesse Lee Kercheval
  • Ginny Moore Kruse
  • Patty Loew
  • Robert D. Mathieu
  • Stephen Nold
  • Paula McCarthy Panczenko
  • Russell Panczenko
  • Gloria E. Sarto

Established in 1981, the Fellows program represents the highest level of recognition conferred by the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters. Drawn from a pool of statewide nominees, Fellows are elected for their extraordinary levels of accomplishment in their fields as well as lifelong commitments to intellectual discourse and public service.

“How can we find and honor the genuine treasures we have in this state—extraordinary people who show us the best of Wisconsin? The Academy does this with its Fellows program. Every two years, we scan the state to find its most outstanding and creative people. As part of our increasingly statewide reach for interdisciplinary excellence, we’re proud to recognize these brilliant and focused citizens who inspire people in Wisconsin and beyond,” says Linda Ware, President of the Wisconsin Academy Board of Directors.

Wisconsin Academy Fellows are distinguished individuals from a wide range of disciplines that help the Wisconsin Academy shape its programs and projects. To be considered, one must have made significant contributions to the well-being of the state of Wisconsin and be highly esteemed for qualities of judgment, perceptiveness, and breadth of knowledge. Those elected also have a career marked by an unusually high order of discovery; technological accomplishments; creative productivity in literature, poetry, or the fine or practical arts; historical analysis; legal or judicial interpretation; philosophical thinking; or public service.


Marcia Bjornerud is Professor of Geology and Environmental Studies at Lawrence University in Appleton. Bjornerud’s research focuses on the physics of earthquakes and mountain-building, and she combines field-based studies of bedrock geology with quantitative models of rock mechanics.

Stephen R. Carpenter is the S.A. Forbes Professor of Zoology and Director of the Center for Limnology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His research on lake ecology led to fundamental concepts of trophic cascades, ecological regime shifts, and resilience of ecosystems and the societies that depend on them.

Cellist Parry Karp is Artist-in Residence and Professor of Chamber Music and Cello, at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where he is director of the string chamber music program. He has been cellist of the Pro Arte Quartet for the past 39 years, the longest tenure of any member in the quartet's over 100 year history.

Jesse Lee Kercheval was born in France, raised in Florida, and has taught at the University of Wisconsin-Madison since 1987.

Between 1976 and 2002 Ginny Moore Kruse was director of the Cooperative Children's Book Center, a non-circulating children's and young adult literature library of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Patty Loew is a professor in the Medill School of Journalism and Director of the Indigenous Research Center at Northwestern University in Chicago.

Robert D. Mathieu is the Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor of Astronomy at the University of Wisconsin–Madison and a Wisconsin Academy Fellow. His research involves the formation and evolution of stars and the dynamics of star clusters.

Microbial ecologist and educator Stephen Nold is recognized for blurring the lines between original research and undergraduate education. Using the tools of discipline-based education research, he studies how classroom students learn when they perform original scientific studies.

Russell Panczenko has been the director and chief curator of the Chazen Museum of Art since October, 1984. As director and chief curator, Panczenko has grown the collection, through acquisitions and gifts, from approximately 12,000 objects at his arrival to more than 21,000 today, making it the second largest collection of art in Wisconsin.

Paula McCarthy Panczenko joined the University of Wisconsin–Madison’s Tandem Press in 1989 and became Director in 1994. Tandem Press is recognized as one of the leading fine art presses in the United States and exhibits its prints in New York, Chicago, and Miami annually.

Gloria E. Sarto is Professor Emeritus in the University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Medicine and Public Health Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Contact Us

Follow Us
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusInstagram

Wisconsin Academy Administrative Offices and Steenbock Gallery

1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608.733.6633


James Watrous Gallery of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608.733.6633 x25