Poet Laureate History | wisconsinacademy.org
Your shopping cart is empty.

Poet Laureate History

Beginning in 2000, Wisconsin governors have appointed four Poets Laureate. Originally, the Poet Laureate position was designated as a four-year term. Beginning in 2008, the current and future Poets Laureate will serve two-year terms. The Wisconsin Academy now stewards the Wisconsin Poet Laureate program and assists the Wisconsin Poet Laureate Commission in the selection and support of the Wisconsin Poet Laureate.

Wisconsin Poets Laureate

Nicholas Gulig: 2023–2024
>>Read a poem

Dasha Kelly-Hamilton: 2021–2022
>>Read a poem

Margaret Rozga: 2019-2020
>>Read a poem

Karla Huston: 2017–2018
>>Read a poem

Kimberly Blaeser: 2015–2016
>>Read a poem

Max Garland: 2013–2014
>>Read a poem

Bruce Dethlefsen: 2010–2012
>>Read a poem

Marilyn L. Taylor: 2008–2010
>>Read a poem

Denise Sweet: 2004–2008
>>Read a poem

Ellen Kort: 2000–2004
>>Read a poem

Past Commended Poets

BJ Best and Karla Huston: 2012-2014

John Lehman and BJ Best: 2008–2010

John Lehman and Tom Montag: 2004–2008

Denise Sweet and Doug Flaherty: 2000–2004

Contact Us

Follow Us

Wisconsin Academy Offices 
1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608.733.6633


James Watrous Gallery 
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608.733.6633 x25