Your shopping cart is empty.


Meet The Fellows

Katharine Lyall

Katharine C. Lyall was the fifth president of the University of Wisconsin System and its first woman president. The UW System has 26 campuses and serves 160,000 students. Prior to her appointment as president in 1992, she served as Vice President for Academic Affairs and as Executive Vice president of the UW System, and earlier as director of the Graduate Program in Public Policy at Johns Hopkins University.

Karen Johnson Boyd

Karen Johnson Boyd has supported the arts broadly, but with a particular interest in crafts, as a collector, donor, board member, publisher, sponsor of museums and exhibitions, and as owner and president of Chicago's Perimeter Gallery. She has focused on emerging artists, collecting their work and documenting their careers.

Dennis Maki

Dr. Maki is the Ovid O. Meyer Professor of Medicine, Head of the Section of Infectious Diseases at the University of Wisconsin Medical School in Madison, Wisconsin, and Attending Physician in the University of Wisconsin Center for Trauma and Life Support. In his activities as an infectious disease consultant, intensivist and hospital epidemiologist, Dr.

Sister Esther Heffernan

Sister Esther Heffernan is a widely respected leader in the areas of peace and social justice. Her 1972 book, Making It in Prison: The Square, The Cool and The Life, is a seminal work in the field. She has amassed an impressive collection of research and has published works on the history of women and prisons, the development of the American penal system, and co-correctional policies in American prisons.

James Thomson

James A. Thomson, is an American developmental biologist whose pioneering work in isolating and culturing non-human primate and human embryonic stem cells has made him one of the most prominent scientists in stem cell research.

Hector DeLuca

Dr. Hector DeLuca earned a BA in chemistry (with honors) from the University of Colorado in 1951, and a PhD in biochemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1955 with Dr. Harry Steenbock, a pioneer in vitamin D research. In 1959, DeLuca joined the Biochemistry Department at the University of Wisconsin as an Assistant Professor, and in 1965-2011, he was promoted to full Professorship (Harry Steenbock Research Professor); 6/2011 became Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry.

Allen M. Young

Allen M. Young, PhD is Curator Emeritus of Zoology at the Milwaukee Public Museum. Prior to that, he was Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at the Museum. Young is one of the founding board members of the Tirimbina Rainforest Center in northeastern Costa Rica.


Contact Us

Follow Us
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusInstagram

Wisconsin Academy Administrative Offices and Steenbock Gallery
1922 University Avenue
Madison, Wisconsin 53726
Phone: 608-263-1692

James Watrous Gallery of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts & Letters
3rd Floor, Overture Center for the Arts
201 State Street
Madison, WI 53703
Phone: 608-265-2500